User Roles

User Roles

User Roles Overview

User roles are set up to group permissions across multiple users set by the administrator, similar to how Employee Groups work. The permissions are inherited from the account and then passed down to the user in the end. This makes managing permissions by mass far easier than in a user-by-user case, as similar types of users can be grouped together: corporate users, auditors, district managers, etc.

Navigating to the User Roles Module

To reach the User Roles module:     

  1. Log in to Control Center
  2. Choose Point of Sale
  3. Choose Maintenance
  4. Choose Users/Employees
  5. Choose User Roles

Understanding the User Roles Module Layout

Please see the image below labeled Figure A for a description of the buttons and fields that appear on the screen. 


                                                                           Figure A

Adding New User Roles

Follow the steps mentioned below to add roles to the user:
  1. Click the Add New button highlighted in Figure A above to add roles to the user.
  2. The form highlighted in Figure B will appear on your screen.

                                                                                  Figure B
  1. Fill in the required information in each field and save, close using the highlighted buttons.
Buttons:
1. Save and Close: This button will let you save the changes made and exit the current user roles form.
2Save and New: This button will let you save the changes made and opens a new customer form.
3. Save: This button allows you to save the changes.
4. Cancel: The cancel button cancels the changes made. 
Fields:
  1. Name: Enter the name of the user whose roles you wish to define.
  2. Permission Types: There are two options for permissions:
  1.  All: Since the user is a corporate user, the selected user can be given all the permissions by the admin.
  2. Custom: The second case is for those corporate users who have access to customized permissions.

Editing User Roles 

Follow the steps mentioned below to edit the roles of a user:
  1. Click the “Edit” button highlighted in Figure A above to edit the roles of a user.
  2. The form highlighted in Figure C will appear on your screen.

                                                              Figure C

Deleting User Roles

Only Administrator can delete the User Roles, on deletion all user permission will be removed from the system. All locations and settings will be changed.
Follow the steps mentioned below to delete the user roles:
  1. Click the “Delete” button highlighted in Figure A above to delete the customer.
  2. The form highlighted in Figure D will appear on your screen.

                                                   Figure D
  1. Click “Yes, Delete” to continue the process of deleting the selected record for user roles.
  2. Click “Cancel” to close the popup and skip the deletion process.

    • Related Articles

    • Pricebook Zones

      Pricebook Zones Overview A pricebook zone is a container of costs/prices for products that are sold. Every product pulls it's cost/price from a pricebook zone "container" that is assigned to one or more stores. Pricebook Zone Flow: “Pricebook Zone > ...
    • Employee Groups

      Employee Groups Overview Users can create, manage, and use a “Group” assignment for employees for simplification of permissions. This allows you to set up permissions based on a role and assign employees without having to individually manage employee ...
    • Tax Groups

      Tax Groups Overview A tax group holds the specific tax rates that are applied to the products. An admin user of the control center can create multiple groups as per tax options for products. When the product is sold, it is possible that multiple tax ...
    • Tax Rates

      Tax Rates Overview When the product is sold, the tax will apply to the product and be calculated with the sub-total amount of the product. It is possible that the different tax rates will be varied to the product as per various locations or regions. ...
    • Item Sales Limits

      Item Sales Limit Overview An item sale limit is a simple rule that can be placed on product(s) that can limit them on a single transaction. This feature comes in handy for specific products that may have transactional limits set by the manufacturer ...